Philip Roth

From Conservapedia

Jump to: navigation, search

Philip Roth (1933 - ) is an American writer of Jewish ancestry. He has been awarded several times and is considered one of the most honored authors of his generation; Roth has been awarded twice by the National Book Award, twice by the National Book Critics Circle award, and three times by the PEN/Faulkner Award; he has also received a Pulitzer Prize, and in 2012 the Prince of Asturias prize for literature. His most famous character is Nathan Zuckerman, his alter ego. With an ingenious and scathing style he has made indiscreet explorations of American and Jewish identity.

The Prince of Asturias Prize organizers said Roth's narrative work forms "part of the great American novel, in the tradition of Dos Passos, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway, William Faulkner, Saul Bellow and Bernard Malamud." [1]

Books

Some if his books include:

  • Goodbye, Columbus (1959)
  • Letting Go (1962)
  • When She Was Good (1967)
  • Portnoy's Complaint (1969)
  • Our Gang (1971)
  • The Great American Novel (1973)
  • My Life As a Man (1974)
  • Sabbath's Theater (1995)
  • American Pastoral (1997)
  • The Human Stain (2000)
  • The Plot Against America (2004)
  • The Humbling (2009)
  • Nemesis (2010)

See also

Personal tools