From Conservapedia
This is the current revision of Halal as edited by Karajou (Talk | contribs) at 18:33, 15 September 2011. This URL is a permanent link to this version of this page.

(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search

Halal is a set of Muslim laws regulating the handling and consumption of food. Several aspects of the law are similar to tenets found in Jewish kosher laws, including the types of meat which are forbidden and the need for animals to be slaughtered in a particular way.


Products prepared by federally inspected meat packing plants identified with labels bearing references to “Halal” (or "Zabiah Halal") must be handled according to Islamic law and under Islamic authority.

There are several animals whose meat cannot be Halal, including all pork products, dogs, felines, human meat, and any carrion meat.

In order to meet Halal requirements, a suitable animal must have its throat cut with a knife and all of its blood drained, while the slaughterman invokes the Muslim prayer "Bismillahir Rahmanir Rahim" (an Arabic phrase for "By the name of God, The Most Compassionate, The Most Merciful").

Any meat dedicated to gods other than the God of Abraham is not allowed to be consumed.

Other Foods

Alcohol is completely forbidden in any form. Muslims may not use any alcohol-based perfumes or personal hygiene products such as antiperspirants. Most Muslims, however, do not regard alcohol-based medical products as forbidden.


Some foods are not forbidden, but are considered disliked (makruh). These include garlic and onions, due to to the odour left in the mouth. However, many Muslims in places such as Egypt, even the more conservative ones, ignore this teaching, as garlic and onions are staples of the typical Middle Eastern diet.

See also


External links