Difference between revisions of "Philip Roth"

From Conservapedia
Jump to: navigation, search
(See also: DEFAULTSORT.)
(update & add)
Line 1: Line 1:
'''Philip Roth''' (born 1933) is an American [[writer]] of Jewish ancestry. He has been awarded several times and is considered one of the most honored authors of his generation; Roth has been awarded twice by the National Book Award, twice by the National Book Critics Circle award, and three times by the PEN/Faulkner Award; he has also received a [[Pulitzer Prize]], and in 2012 the Prince of Asturias prize for literature. His most famous character is Nathan Zuckerman, his ''alter ego''. With an ingenious and scathing style he has made indiscreet explorations of American and [[Jewish]] identity.
+
'''Philip Roth''' (March 19, 1933 - May 22, 2018) was an American [[writer]] of Jewish ancestry. He is considered one of the foremost authors of his generation.
 +
 
 +
Roth's most famous character is Nathan Zuckerman, his ''alter ego''. With an ingenious and scathing style, he made indiscreet explorations of American and [[Jewish]] identity.
  
 
<blockquote>
 
<blockquote>
Line 5: Line 7:
 
</blockquote>
 
</blockquote>
  
== Books ==
+
==Honors and Awards==
Some if his books include:
+
* [[National Book Award]] (1960, 1995)
 +
* National Book Critics Circle Award (1986, 1991)
 +
* PEN/Faulkner Award (1994, 2001, 2007)
 +
* [[Pulitzer Prize]] (1998)
 +
* National Medal of Arts (1998)
 +
* Franz Kafka Prize (2001)
 +
* Gold Medal in Fiction, [[American Academy of Arts and Letters]] (2001)
 +
* Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters from the National Book Foundation (2002)
 +
* PEN/Nabokov Award for Lifetime Achievement (2006)
 +
* PEN/Saul Bellow Award for Achievement in American Fiction (2008)
 +
* Man Booker International Prize (2011)
 +
* Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction (2012)
 +
* Prince of Asturias Award for literature (2012)
 +
* Commander of the Legion of Honor of the Republic of France (2013)
  
 +
== Selected Bibliography ==
 
* ''Goodbye, Columbus'' (1959)
 
* ''Goodbye, Columbus'' (1959)
 
* ''Letting Go'' (1962)
 
* ''Letting Go'' (1962)

Revision as of 13:07, 13 September 2018

Philip Roth (March 19, 1933 - May 22, 2018) was an American writer of Jewish ancestry. He is considered one of the foremost authors of his generation.

Roth's most famous character is Nathan Zuckerman, his alter ego. With an ingenious and scathing style, he made indiscreet explorations of American and Jewish identity.

The Prince of Asturias Prize organizers said Roth's narrative work forms "part of the great American novel, in the tradition of Dos Passos, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway, William Faulkner, Saul Bellow and Bernard Malamud." [1]

Honors and Awards

  • National Book Award (1960, 1995)
  • National Book Critics Circle Award (1986, 1991)
  • PEN/Faulkner Award (1994, 2001, 2007)
  • Pulitzer Prize (1998)
  • National Medal of Arts (1998)
  • Franz Kafka Prize (2001)
  • Gold Medal in Fiction, American Academy of Arts and Letters (2001)
  • Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters from the National Book Foundation (2002)
  • PEN/Nabokov Award for Lifetime Achievement (2006)
  • PEN/Saul Bellow Award for Achievement in American Fiction (2008)
  • Man Booker International Prize (2011)
  • Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction (2012)
  • Prince of Asturias Award for literature (2012)
  • Commander of the Legion of Honor of the Republic of France (2013)

Selected Bibliography

  • Goodbye, Columbus (1959)
  • Letting Go (1962)
  • When She Was Good (1967)
  • Portnoy's Complaint (1969)
  • Our Gang (1971)
  • The Great American Novel (1973)
  • My Life As a Man (1974)
  • Sabbath's Theater (1995)
  • American Pastoral (1997)
  • The Human Stain (2000)
  • The Plot Against America (2004)
  • The Humbling (2009)
  • Nemesis (2010)

See also