Difference between revisions of "Philip Roth"

From Conservapedia
Jump to: navigation, search
(update & add)
m
 
Line 1: Line 1:
'''Philip Roth''' (March 19, 1933 - May 22, 2018) was an American [[writer]] of Jewish ancestry. He is considered one of the foremost authors of his generation.
+
'''Philip Roth''' (March 19, 1933 May 22, 2018) was an American [[writer]] of Jewish ancestry. He is considered one of the foremost authors of his generation.
  
 
Roth's most famous character is Nathan Zuckerman, his ''alter ego''. With an ingenious and scathing style, he made indiscreet explorations of American and [[Jewish]] identity.
 
Roth's most famous character is Nathan Zuckerman, his ''alter ego''. With an ingenious and scathing style, he made indiscreet explorations of American and [[Jewish]] identity.

Latest revision as of 12:17, 13 September 2018

Philip Roth (March 19, 1933 – May 22, 2018) was an American writer of Jewish ancestry. He is considered one of the foremost authors of his generation.

Roth's most famous character is Nathan Zuckerman, his alter ego. With an ingenious and scathing style, he made indiscreet explorations of American and Jewish identity.

The Prince of Asturias Prize organizers said Roth's narrative work forms "part of the great American novel, in the tradition of Dos Passos, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway, William Faulkner, Saul Bellow and Bernard Malamud." [1]

Honors and Awards

  • National Book Award (1960, 1995)
  • National Book Critics Circle Award (1986, 1991)
  • PEN/Faulkner Award (1994, 2001, 2007)
  • Pulitzer Prize (1998)
  • National Medal of Arts (1998)
  • Franz Kafka Prize (2001)
  • Gold Medal in Fiction, American Academy of Arts and Letters (2001)
  • Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters from the National Book Foundation (2002)
  • PEN/Nabokov Award for Lifetime Achievement (2006)
  • PEN/Saul Bellow Award for Achievement in American Fiction (2008)
  • Man Booker International Prize (2011)
  • Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction (2012)
  • Prince of Asturias Award for literature (2012)
  • Commander of the Legion of Honor of the Republic of France (2013)

Selected Bibliography

  • Goodbye, Columbus (1959)
  • Letting Go (1962)
  • When She Was Good (1967)
  • Portnoy's Complaint (1969)
  • Our Gang (1971)
  • The Great American Novel (1973)
  • My Life As a Man (1974)
  • Sabbath's Theater (1995)
  • American Pastoral (1997)
  • The Human Stain (2000)
  • The Plot Against America (2004)
  • The Humbling (2009)
  • Nemesis (2010)

See also