Difference between revisions of "Vegetarianism"

From Conservapedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search
m (Link Reinstated. No good reason given for removing it. It is highly apposite in an article on vegetarianism to include justification.)
Line 1: Line 1:
−
'''Vegetarianism''' is the practice of abstaining from [[meat]] consumption. Somebody who practices vegetarianism is referred to as a ''vegetarian''. Vegetarianism is a common theme among the [[Dharmic]] religions, such as [[Hinduism]], [[Buddhism]], and [[Jainism]]. This stems from the belief that all higher animal life is sacred (though in Jainism, ''all'' life is considered sacred), one of the core concepts of all of these religions. Many people outside of these religions also choose to be vegetarians because of various other beliefs, such as  protesting what they see as harmful practices by the meat production industry.  
+
'''Vegetarianism''' is the practice of abstaining from [[meat]] consumption. Somebody who practices vegetarianism is referred to as a ''vegetarian''. Vegetarianism is a common theme among the [[Dharmic]] religions, such as [[Hinduism]], [[Buddhism]], and [[Jainism]]. This stems from the belief that all higher animal life is sacred (though in Jainism, ''all'' life is considered sacred), one of the core concepts of all of these religions. Many people outside of these religions also choose to be vegetarians because of various other beliefs, such as  protesting what they see as harmful practices by the meat production industry. Health can be another reason. In Daniel 1:4-15, Daniel and his companions declined to eat Babylonian royal food and instead requested frsh water and vegetables. At the end of ten days, they were healthier than those who ate the rich food.
  
 
==Forms of Vegetarianism==
 
==Forms of Vegetarianism==

Revision as of 22:20, May 8, 2007

Vegetarianism is the practice of abstaining from meat consumption. Somebody who practices vegetarianism is referred to as a vegetarian. Vegetarianism is a common theme among the Dharmic religions, such as Hinduism, Buddhism, and Jainism. This stems from the belief that all higher animal life is sacred (though in Jainism, all life is considered sacred), one of the core concepts of all of these religions. Many people outside of these religions also choose to be vegetarians because of various other beliefs, such as protesting what they see as harmful practices by the meat production industry. Health can be another reason. In Daniel 1:4-15, Daniel and his companions declined to eat Babylonian royal food and instead requested frsh water and vegetables. At the end of ten days, they were healthier than those who ate the rich food.

Forms of Vegetarianism

  • Vegan - Someone who consumes only a diet based on plants; no animal meat, animal products such as milk or cheese, or byproducts such as gelatin.
  • Lactovegetarian - Someone who eats a plant based diet but also eats animal produced foods such as milk and cheese.
  • Ovo-lactovegetarian (or lacto-ovovegetarian) - Similar to the Lactovegetarian but also consumes eggs.

External Links