Difference between revisions of "Soybean"
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
(who/what eats it) |
|||
| Line 1: | Line 1: | ||
| − | The '''Soybean''', also known as the '''Soya bean''' is a plant native to Eastern Asia. It is often used in the production of [[vegetarian]]-safe foods, such as soy milk or infant formula. | + | The '''Soybean''', also known as the '''Soya bean''' is a plant native to Eastern [[Asia]]. It is often used in the production of [[vegetarian]]-safe foods, such as soy milk or infant [[formula]]. In the United States, most people do not eat soybeans and it is still used primarily as a feed for [[livestock]], especially [[pig]]s and [[poultry]]. It is more commonly eaten by people in Eastern Asia, where it is known as [[edamame]] and is the primary ingredient in the mushy, [[gelatin]]-like foodstuff called [[tofu]]. |
[[Category:Plants]] | [[Category:Plants]] | ||
Revision as of 19:14, June 13, 2008
The Soybean, also known as the Soya bean is a plant native to Eastern Asia. It is often used in the production of vegetarian-safe foods, such as soy milk or infant formula. In the United States, most people do not eat soybeans and it is still used primarily as a feed for livestock, especially pigs and poultry. It is more commonly eaten by people in Eastern Asia, where it is known as edamame and is the primary ingredient in the mushy, gelatin-like foodstuff called tofu.