'''Ham''' is generally the term used for meat originating from a pig, or perhaps a boar; although traditionally ham can pertain to the meat from the thigh/buttock area of any animal slaughtered for meat.
+
'''Ham''' is the term used for a cured cut of [[pork]] originating from the hind legs of a [[pig]] or boar. Ham is cured to preserve it either by dry curing with [[salt]] or wet-curing using brine (salt solution).\
−
Ham is generally cured by some method, either dry curing (using salt) or wet-curing (using brine).
+
−
Eating ham is prohibited by many religions around the world.
+
As with all [[pork]], in [[Judaism]] it is considered an unclean meat (non-Kosher) and is not eaten based on the [[Bible]] passage from [[Leviticus]] 11.4.