| Line 10: |
Line 10: |
| | ==Rules of Kashrut== | | ==Rules of Kashrut== |
| | | | |
| − | 1. A land animal, may be eaten if it chews it cud and has split hooves.<ref name="an">http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm#Animals</ref>
| + | # A land animal, may be eaten if it chews it cud and has split hooves.<ref name="an">http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm#Animals</ref> |
| − | | + | # Animals which live in the water must have a skeleton and fins.<ref name="an"/> |
| − | 2. Animals which live in the water must have a skeleton and fins.<ref name="an"/>
| + | # Blood is forbidden even from kosher animals.<ref>http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm#Blood</ref> |
| − | | + | # The sciatic nerve and its adjoining blood vessels may not be eaten<ref>http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm#Fats</ref> |
| − | 3. Blood is forbidden even from kosher animals.<ref>http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm#Blood</ref>
| + | # Insects are forbidden.<ref name="an"/><ref name="bug"/><ref name="bug2">http://www.skskosher.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=22&Itemid=32</ref> |
| − | | + | # Rodents, reptiles, and amphibians, are all forbidden. <ref name="an"/> |
| − | 4. The sciatic nerve and its adjoining blood vessels may not be eaten<ref>http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm#Fats</ref>
| + | # Vegetables and fruits must be checked for insects.<ref name="bug">http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm#Fruits</ref><ref name="bug2"/> |
| − | | + | # Milk and meat and or poultry derived foods must not be mixed.<ref name="s">http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm#Separation</ref> |
| − | 5. Insects are forbidden.<ref name="an"/><ref name="bug"/><ref name="bug2">http://www.skskosher.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=22&Itemid=32</ref>
| + | # Also, animals must be killed in a specific way by a shohet (the exception being fish).<ref>http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm#Shechitah</ref> |
| − | | + | # Seperate silverware must be used for fleshig (meat and poultry) and milchig (milk) foods.<ref name="s"/> |
| − | 6. Rodents, reptiles, and amphibians, are all forbidden. <ref name="an"/>
| + | # Utensils (pots, pans, plates, flatware, etc., etc.) must also be kosher. A utensil picks up the kosher "status" (meat, dairy, pareve, or treif) of the food that is cooked in it or eaten off of it, and transmits that status back to the next food that is cooked in it or eaten off of it.<ref>http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm#Utensils</ref> |
| − | | + | # Jews must wait 3 to 6 hours after eating fleshig to eat milchig, the reverse is not true though.<ref name="s"/> |
| − | 7. Vegetables and fruits must be checked for insects.<ref name="bug">http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm#Fruits</ref><ref name="bug2"/>
| + | # Fish, eggs, fruits, vegetables and grains can be eaten with either meat/poultry or dairy.<ref>http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm#Rules</ref> |
| − | | + | # Amongst poultry, birds of prey are considered treyf.<ref name="an"/> |
| − | 8. Milk and meat and or poultry derived foods must not be mixed.<ref name="s">http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm#Separation</ref>
| + | # Also wine can only be considered kosher if made by a Jew, because of the importance wine plays in Jewish holidays, the exception is if the wine is boiled.<ref>http://www.skskosher.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=64&Itemid=32</ref><ref>http://www.star-k.org/kashrus/kk-thirst-wine.htm</ref> |
| − | | + | # When, after the ritual slaughtering, an animal, apparently sound during its life, is found to have been diseased, its milk, or cheese made of its milk, is forbidden as food. <ref name="JE">Jewish Encyclopedia's article on Dietary Laws</ref> |
| − | 9. Also, animals must be killed in a specific way by a shohet (the exception being fish).<ref>http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm#Shechitah</ref>
| + | # The ancient Israelites looked with horror upon the custom prevalent among the surrounding nations of cutting off a limb or a piece of flesh from a living animal and eating it.<ref name="JE"/> Such limbs had to be thrown away.<ref name="JE"/> |
| − | | + | # Water that was left uncovered overnight was not permitted as drink in olden times, because of the apprehension that a serpent might have left its venom in it.<ref name="JE"/> Where serpents are not found this prohibition does not exist.<ref name="JE"/> |
| − | 10. Seperate silverware must be used for fleshig (meat and poultry) and milchig (milk) foods.<ref name="s"/>
| |
| − | | |
| − | 11. Utensils (pots, pans, plates, flatware, etc., etc.) must also be kosher. A utensil picks up the kosher "status" (meat, dairy, pareve, or treif) of the food that is cooked in it or eaten off of it, and transmits that status back to the next food that is cooked in it or eaten off of it.<ref>http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm#Utensils</ref>
| |
| − | | |
| − | 12. Jews must wait 3 to 6 hours after eating fleshig to eat milchig, the reverse is not true
| |
| − | though.<ref name="s"/> | |
| − | | |
| − | 13. Fish, eggs, fruits, vegetables and grains can be eaten with either meat/poultry or dairy.<ref>http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm#Rules</ref>
| |
| − | | |
| − | 14. Amongst poultry, birds of prey are considered treyf.<ref name="an"/>
| |
| − | | |
| − | 15. Also wine can only be considered kosher if made by a Jew, because of the importance wine plays in Jewish holidays, the exception is if the wine is boiled.<ref>http://www.skskosher.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=64&Itemid=32</ref><ref>http://www.star-k.org/kashrus/kk-thirst-wine.htm</ref>
| |
| − | | |
| − | 16. When, after the ritual slaughtering, an animal, apparently sound during its life, is found to have been diseased, its milk, or cheese made of its milk, is forbidden as food. <ref name="JE">Jewish Encyclopedia's article on Dietary Laws</ref>
| |
| − | | |
| − | 17. The ancient Israelites looked with horror upon the custom prevalent among the surrounding nations of cutting off a limb or a piece of flesh from a living animal and eating it.<ref name="JE"/> Such limbs had to be thrown away.<ref name="JE"/>
| |
| − | | |
| − | 18. Water that was left uncovered overnight was not permitted as drink in olden times, because of the apprehension that a serpent might have left its venom in it.<ref name="JE"/> Where serpents are not found this prohibition does not exist.<ref name="JE"/>
| |
| | | | |
| | ==Misconceptions about Kosher== | | ==Misconceptions about Kosher== |
| Line 72: |
Line 54: |
| | $50 billion per year is spent on kosher foods by various different groups.<ref name="crc">http://www.crcweb.org/kosher/industry/crcedge.html</ref> | | $50 billion per year is spent on kosher foods by various different groups.<ref name="crc">http://www.crcweb.org/kosher/industry/crcedge.html</ref> |
| | | | |
| − | 1. Jews seeking to meet their religious obligations <ref name="crc"/>
| + | # Jews seeking to meet their religious obligations <ref name="crc"/> |
| − | | + | # Muslims who keep the [[Halal]] dietary laws <ref name="crc"/> |
| − | 2. Muslims who keep the [[Halal]] dietary laws <ref name="crc"/>
| + | # Consumers insisting on a high-quality, safe and healthy product <ref name="crc"/> |
| − | | + | # Lactose intolerant customers purchasing non-dairy (Pareve) Kosher products <ref name="crc"/> |
| − | 3. Consumers insisting on a high-quality, safe and healthy product <ref name="crc"/>
| + | # [[Vegan]]s and [[vegetarian]]s <ref name="crc"/> |
| − | | |
| − | 4. Lactose intolerant customers purchasing non-dairy (Pareve) Kosher products <ref name="crc"/>
| |
| − | | |
| − | 5. [[Vegans]] and [[vegetarians]] <ref name="crc"/>
| |
| | | | |
| − |
| |
| | | | |
| | ==Further reading== | | ==Further reading== |