1,551 bytes added
, 23:43, March 22, 2007
m'''Vegetarianism''' is a worldview and philosophy based around abstinence from [[meat]] consumption. Somebody who practices vegetarianism is referred to as a ''vegetarian''. Vegetarianism is a common theme among the [[Dharmic]] religions, such as [[Hinduism]], [[Buddhism]], and [[Jainism]]. This stems from the belief that all higher animal life is sacred, one of the core concepts of all of these religions. Many people outside of these religions also choose to be vegetarians because of various other beliefs, such as protesting what they see as harmful practices by the meat production industry.
==Forms of Vegetarianism==
*Vegan - Someone who consumes only a diet based on plants; no animal or animal byproducts such as milk or cheese.
*Lactovegetarian - Someone who eats a plant based diet but also eats animal produced foods such as milk and cheese.
*Ovo-lactovegetarian (or lacto-ovovege-tarian) - Similar to the Lactovegetarian but also consumes eggs.
*Pesco-ovo-lactovegetarian - as above but with the inclusion of fish.
*Porco-pesco-ovo-lactovegetarian - additionally allows the eating of pork.
==Biblical View==
The [[Bible]] specifically takes a position on the eating of [[pork]]:
:''Nevertheless these shall ye not eat of them that chew the cud, or of them that divide the hoof: as the camel, because he cheweth the cud, but divideth not the hoof; he is unclean unto you.''<ref>''Leviticus 11.4'', KJV</ref>
==External Links==
*[http://www.health.gov/dietaryguidelines/dga2005/document/html/appendixC.htm USDA Dietary Guidelines]