Difference between revisions of "Kosher"

From Conservapedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Line 9: Line 9:
  
 
Jewish people who do not keep kosher often complain that keeping kosher is difficult.<ref name="k"/> Actually, keeping kosher is not particularly difficult in and of itself; what makes it difficult to keep kosher is the fact that the rest of the world does not do so.<ref name="k"/> In fact, the basic underlying rules are fairly simple.<ref name="k"/> If you buy only kosher certified products at the market, the only thing you need to think about is the separation of meat and dairy.<ref name="k"/>
 
Jewish people who do not keep kosher often complain that keeping kosher is difficult.<ref name="k"/> Actually, keeping kosher is not particularly difficult in and of itself; what makes it difficult to keep kosher is the fact that the rest of the world does not do so.<ref name="k"/> In fact, the basic underlying rules are fairly simple.<ref name="k"/> If you buy only kosher certified products at the market, the only thing you need to think about is the separation of meat and dairy.<ref name="k"/>
 +
 +
Keeping kosher only becomes difficult when you try to eat in a non-kosher restaurant, or at the home of a person who does not keep kosher.<ref name="k"/> In those situations, your lack of knowledge about your host's ingredients and food preparation techniques make it very difficult to keep kosher.<ref name="k"/> Some commentators have pointed out, however, that this may well have been part of what God had in mind: to make it more difficult for us to socialize with those who do not share our religion.<ref name="k"/>
  
 
==Further reading==
 
==Further reading==

Revision as of 19:37, July 1, 2008

File:OUKosher.JPG
The circled U indicates that this product is certified as kosher by the Orthodox Union (OU). The word "Pareve" indicates that this product contains neither milk- nor meat-derived ingredients.

Kashrut or kashruth, or "kosher" is the name of the Jewish dietary laws. Food in accordance with halakha (Jewish law) is termed kosher in English, meaning fit for consumption by Jews according to traditional Jewish law; in Yiddish it also generally means, authentic, acceptable, permissible, genuine or legitimate.

Food products that are not in accordance with Jewish law are called treyf ( "torn" or "damaged");[1] the Hebrew word refers to animals (from a kosher species such as cattle or sheep) which had been either incorrectly slaughtered or mortally wounded by wild animals and therefore were not fit for Jewish consumption. Among Sephardim, it usually only refers to meat that is not kosher.

The basic laws of kashrut are in the Torah's Book of Leviticus, with their details set down in the Talmud. Numerous reasons have been offered for these laws, ranging from philosophical and ritualistic, to practical and hygienic. According to some Biblical scholars, God's command to Noah to take seven pairs of each "clean" animal into the Ark meant seven pairs of each kosher animal. Most Christians believe that these rules became obsolete with Jesus's sacrifice.

According to the laws of Kashrut, a Jew may eat a land animal, if it chews it cud and has split hooves, animals which live in the water must have a skeleton and fins, blood is forbidden even from kosher animals, insects are forbidden, and vegetables must be checked for insects, milk and meat derived foods must not be mixed, Also, animals must be killed in a specific way by a shohet, milk and poultry derived foods must not be mixed, seperate silverware must be used for fleshig (meat and poultry) and milchig (milk) foods. Although, glass is considered not to transfer milchig and fleshig status, as long as there is no visible specks of food or drink on the glassware, and the glassware is clean. Jews must wait 6 hours after eating fleshig to eat milchig, the reverse is not true though. Foods which are not milchig or fleshig are called pareve. Fish is not considered milchig and is considered pareve. Fish does not need to be killed by a shohet. Amongst poultry, birds of prey are considered treyf. Also wine can only be considered kosher if made by a Jew, because of the importance wine plays in Jewish holidays, rituals, and services, the exception is if the wine is baked. Nowadays, many Jews who keep kosher do not have to constantly remind themselves of these laws because they simply have to look for products with a U in a circle, known as OU, or a K in a circle, known as OK.

Jewish people who do not keep kosher often complain that keeping kosher is difficult.[1] Actually, keeping kosher is not particularly difficult in and of itself; what makes it difficult to keep kosher is the fact that the rest of the world does not do so.[1] In fact, the basic underlying rules are fairly simple.[1] If you buy only kosher certified products at the market, the only thing you need to think about is the separation of meat and dairy.[1]

Keeping kosher only becomes difficult when you try to eat in a non-kosher restaurant, or at the home of a person who does not keep kosher.[1] In those situations, your lack of knowledge about your host's ingredients and food preparation techniques make it very difficult to keep kosher.[1] Some commentators have pointed out, however, that this may well have been part of what God had in mind: to make it more difficult for us to socialize with those who do not share our religion.[1]

Further reading

  • Binyomen Forst, The Laws of Kashrus, Mozniam, 1999
  • Isidore Grunfeld, The Jewish Dietary Laws, London: Soncino, 1972
  • Isaac Klein, A Guide to Jewish Religious Practice, JTSA, 1992
  • James M. Lebeau, The Jewish Dietary Laws: Sanctify Life, United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism, New York, 1983
  • Yacov Lipschutz, Kashruth: A Comprehensive Background and Reference Guide to the Principles of Kahruth. New York:Mesorah Publications Ltd, 1989

References

External links

Resources on keeping kosher

Ritual slaughter

Miscellaneous