| Line 8: |
Line 8: |
| | According to the laws of Kashrut, | | According to the laws of Kashrut, |
| | | | |
| − | 1. A land animal, may be eaten if it chews it cud and has split hooves. | + | 1. A land animal, may be eaten if it chews it cud and has split hooves.<ref name="an"/> |
| | | | |
| | 2. Animals which live in the water must have a skeleton and fins. | | 2. Animals which live in the water must have a skeleton and fins. |
| Line 16: |
Line 16: |
| | 4. The sciatic nerve and its adjoining blood vessels may not be eaten<ref>http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm#Fats</ref> | | 4. The sciatic nerve and its adjoining blood vessels may not be eaten<ref>http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm#Fats</ref> |
| | | | |
| − | 4. Insects are forbidden.<ref name="bug"/> | + | 4. Insects are forbidden.<ref name="bug"/><ref name="bug2">http://www.skskosher.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=22&Itemid=32</ref> |
| | | | |
| − | 5. Vegetables and fruits must be checked for insects.<ref name="bug">http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm#Fruits</ref> | + | 5. Vegetables and fruits must be checked for insects.<ref name="bug">http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm#Fruits</ref><ref name="bug2"/> |
| | | | |
| | 6. Milk and meat and or poultry derived foods must not be mixed. | | 6. Milk and meat and or poultry derived foods must not be mixed. |
| Line 35: |
Line 35: |
| | 12. Fish does not need to be killed by a shohet. | | 12. Fish does not need to be killed by a shohet. |
| | | | |
| − | 13. Amongst poultry, birds of prey are considered treyf.<ref>http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm#Animals</ref> | + | 13. Amongst poultry, birds of prey are considered treyf.<ref name="an">http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm#Animals</ref> |
| | | | |
| | 14. Also wine can only be considered kosher if made by a Jew, because of the importance wine plays in Jewish holidays, the exception is if the wine is boiled.<ref>http://www.skskosher.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=64&Itemid=32</ref><ref>http://www.star-k.org/kashrus/kk-thirst-wine.htm</ref> | | 14. Also wine can only be considered kosher if made by a Jew, because of the importance wine plays in Jewish holidays, the exception is if the wine is boiled.<ref>http://www.skskosher.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=64&Itemid=32</ref><ref>http://www.star-k.org/kashrus/kk-thirst-wine.htm</ref> |